Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

You are required to manage a multitude of jobs required for production. Some jobs are new, and some are old. You are required to fulfill a number of tasks that involve finding jobs, copying jobs, moving jobs, and destroying jobs.

Create a new job group

  1. If it is not already open, start Prinergy Workshop.
  2. From the File menu in Job Finder, choose New Group.
  3. In the Create New Group dialog box, type XXMainGroup (where <XX> represents your initials).
  4. Click Create.
  5. From the File menu in Job Finder, choose New Group.
  6. In the Create New Group dialog box, type XXTestGroup (where <XX> represents your initials).
  7. Click Create.

Create a new job

  1. In Job Finder, right-click the XXTestGroup and choose New Job.
  2. Type the job name XXTestJob (where <XX> represents your initials).
  3. Click Create.
  4. Close XXTestJob Job Manager.

Find a job

  1. In Job Finder, in the search box located in the upper-right corner, type a search term.
    A list of all jobs with names that contain the search term is displayed.
    Notes:
    • You can use uppercase or lowercase letters. The search is not case‑sensitive.
    • If you do not know the exact name, you can use the "*" wild card in place of one or more letters. For example, if you search for magazine*, you will find all jobs that start with magazine. You can use multiple wild cards in the same search. 
  2. To use the advanced search, click the arrow on the right side of the search box, and perform the following actions:
    1. In the Search for jobs that match..., select All or Any, and then define the criteria for the search.
    2. In the first list select an option, then select an option from the second list, and type the appropriate search term in the text box.
    3. To add additional search criteria, click , and repeat step 2b.
    4. When you finish defining the search criteria, click Search.

Rename a job

  1. In Job Finder, right-click the job XXTestJob and choose Rename Job.
  2. Change the job name to XX_Manage_Jobs (where <XX> is your initials). Click Rename.
  3. View the name change in Job Finder.
    Note: If the name doesn't change right away, choose Refresh from the View menu.

Move a job

You can move a job to another job group on your Prinergy system. When you move a job, all job related data moves to the new location.

  1. In Job Finder, select your job XX_Manage_Jobs (located in the XXTestGroup).
  2. From the File menu, choose Change Group (of Job).
  3. In the Change Group dialog box, locate your group XXMainGroup from the Group list.
  4. Click the Move to "XXMainGroup" button.
  5. Verify that XX_Manage_Jobs is now located in your XXMainGroup.

Copy a job

In Prinergy, you can copy original jobs and pre-jobs to create new jobs and pre-jobs on your Prinergy system. You can copy a job when you need to perform the following tasks:

  • Create a backup of a job—for example, you can copy an original job and then make revisions, remakes, or test changes on the new copied job, leaving the original job intact.
  • Move a job—for example, you can copy a job to another server or share combination on your Prinergy system and delete the original job.
  • Retrieve a job—for example, you can retrieve an archived job to a new job by copying the archived job and performing a retrieve process on the copied job.

When you copy a job, all job related data from the original job is copied to the new job. If the original job is online, contents of the job folder are copied to the new job. If the original job is offline, you have to use the Archiver to retrieve contents of the job folder contents of the job folder into the new job.

  1. From your XXMainGroup, select the job XX_Manage_Jobs.
  2. From the File menu, choose Copy Job.
  3. In the Copy Job dialog box, select the XXTestGroup. This is the location where XX_Manage_Jobs will be copied to.
  4. In the Create new Job as window, change the name of the job to XX_Manage_Jobscopy.
    Note: When you copy a job to a new location, you need to change the name of the job. If copying the job to a different server, you only have to change the name of the job if there is another job with the same name.
  5. Click the Copy Job button.
  6. In the Start Process dialog box, click Edit Process Template.
  7. View the Copy Job process template.
    Note: Here you can specify if you want to copy just the job folder or the job folder and the job history.
  8. Keep both the Copy Job Folder and Copy Job History selected. Click OK.
  9. In the Start Process dialog box, click OK.
  10. Verify that XX_Manage_Jobscopy was copied to your XXTest Group.

Destroy a job

Destroying a job or pre-job permanently deletes all files and information about the job or pre-job. Only destroy a job if you are sure you will never need the job again. This action creates additional storage space on your Prinergy server. Only destroy a job if you have previously archived the job, or know you will never need to use the job again.

  1. In Job Finder, right-click your XX_Manage_Jobscopy (located in your XXTestGroup) and choose Destroy Entire Job.
  2. In the Destroy Job dialog box, enter your administrator name and password (supplied by your instructor, service representative, or your own system administrator).
  3. Click Destroy.

Destroy a job group

  1. In Job Finder, right-click your group XXTestGroup and choose Delete Group.
  2. In the Delete Group dialog box, click OK.
  • No labels